• Find a job
  • For companies

What’s your personality type?

Jungian personality types

The Jungian personality types, also known as the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI types), are based on Carl Jung’s theory of psychological archetypes. Each personality type has its own set of strengths, weaknesses, preferences, and tendencies — an archetype. Understanding your personality type can help you in many aspects of life, from career choices to personal relationships.
Find your type

Jung personality type


Drawing energy from the external world and interactions with other people.


Reasoning based mainly on just the facts and things that can be directly percepieved.


Focusing on observing the environment rather than experiencing it.


Approaching life in a structured, organized manner.


Drawing energy from the external world and interactions with other people.


Reasoning based mainly on just the facts and things that can be directly percepieved.


Focusing on observing the environment rather than experiencing it.


Approaching life in a structured, organized manner.

Jungian and MBTI personality type combinations

Each dichotomy has two options, and when combined, they create 16 unique personality types. These types are determined by four different dichotomies: extraversion vs. introversion (E/I), sensing vs. intuition (S/N), thinking vs. feeling (T/F), and judging vs. perceiving (J/P).
The Inspector
The Protector
The Counselor
The Mastermind
The Craftsman
The Composer
The Healer
The Architect
The Dynamo
The Performer
The Champion
The Visionaryr
The Supervisor
The Provider
The Teacher
The Commander

Free Jungian archetypes test

Frequently asked questions

What's my Jungian 16 type personality?

Take our Jungian assessment to find out! However, note that while the Jungian 16-type personality system is widely used, it is not a comprehensive measure of personality and you should check out our Big Five personality test.

What are the 12 Jungian archetypes?

Carl Jung, a renowned Swiss psychoanalyst and founder of analytical psychology, identified 12 archetypes that he believed to be fundamental in the human psyche. These archetypes are universal and can be found in various forms across different cultures.
The first archetype is the innocent, which represents purity, simplicity, and a sense of goodness. The innocent is often associated with childlike wonder and optimism.
The second archetype is the explorer, which represents a desire for adventure, novelty, and discovery. The explorer is curious and open-minded, always seeking new experiences and opportunities for growth.
The third archetype is the sage, which represents wisdom, insight, and knowledge. The sage is a lifelong learner, constantly seeking to deepen their understanding of the world and themselves.
The fourth archetype is the hero, which represents courage, strength, and selflessness. The hero is willing to face great challenges and overcome adversity to achieve a greater good.
The fifth archetype is the outlaw, which represents rebellion, freedom, and nonconformity. The outlaw is willing to challenge authority and societal norms in the pursuit of personal liberty.
The sixth archetype is the magician, which represents transformation, intuition, and the power of the unconscious. The magician is able to harness unseen forces to bring about change and create new realities.
The seventh archetype is the regular person, which represents relatability, authenticity, and a sense of belonging. The regular person is often seen as the "everyman" or "everywoman" and serves as a relatable character in storytelling.
The eighth archetype is the lover, which represents passion, desire, and emotional connection. The lover is often associated with romantic love, but can also represent a deep love for life and the world.
The ninth archetype is the caregiver, which represents nurturing, compassion, and selflessness. The caregiver is often associated with motherhood, but can also represent anyone who takes care of others in a nurturing way.
The tenth archetype is the jester, which represents humor, playfulness, and joy. The jester uses laughter and fun to bring levity to difficult situations and to help people enjoy life.
The eleventh archetype is the sage, which represents power, authority, and leadership. The sage is often seen as a wise and just ruler, using their knowledge and insight to guide their followers.
The twelfth and final archetype is the shadow, which represents the darker aspects of the human psyche. The shadow is often associated with fear, anger, and other negative emotions that we keep hidden from others and even from ourselves. By acknowledging and integrating our shadow, we can achieve greater wholeness and self-awareness.
Gyfted 2021, Palo Alto, CA 94305. All rights reserved.